Leaving

Starting a blog isn’t easy for me. It’s not like the research papers or decision memos I eventually enjoyed writing in school. I suppose a blog is more like writing a short story or novel when you don’t know how it will end, and I’ve never enjoyed creative writing.

Marrying Charley has been the biggest step in my life so far, and it was a good one indeed. Together, we are leaving my hometown (where I’ve lived all my 28 years except a summer internship) and moving to Georgia to serve in the Peace Corps. I’ve always wanted to explore the world outside the bubble I call Bryan-College Station, TX and now I realize that I could not have done so without my wonderful husband leading the way.

Applying for the Peace Corps taught us about perseverance, which I suspect will be tested during our service. The medical clearance process was especially difficult for us and served as an eye-opening experience for life without health insurance. We met kindness in some providers who offered us discounted prices and some doctors who helped us out of the goodness of their hearts. I’d like to especially thank Dr. Wright, Dr. Waguespack, Dr. Derbes, Dr. Jenkins and family friend Dr. Salzer. Thank you for all you’ve done to make our dream a reality. I’d also like to thank our families for all the support over these past few years. You have truly been a blessing to us.

Serving in the Peace Corps wasn’t always my dream–I figured it was just for hippies. So, when a professor recommended it we were skeptical, but decided to go for it. To qualify for the Peace Corps, we began volunteer-teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) at the Clara B. Mounce Library. Our Peace Corps recruiter asked us to gain 30 hours of teaching experience, but several hundred hours and two years later I must admit that teaching has become my passion (Charley says it’s my calling).  Therefore, as we fly to Georgia I’m no longer thinking of the Peace Corps as padding for my resume. I’m not even thinking about what jobs I’ll apply for afterwards. I am simply excited to teach and serve the people of Georgia alongside my husband.

2 thoughts on “Leaving

  1. Hurray!!! I can’t wait to read about all the adventures over the next two years. I’ll be praying for y’all every step of the way! Much love, BA

  2. Astounding how God has intentionally created and used the power of this marriage to get y’all to this point. And it was perseverance from suffering that produced such hope in y’all (Romans 5:3-5). And God never allows true hope to shame.

Leave a Reply

